EU opens external borders from July 1st, good news to Thailand!

EU opens external borders expected from July 1st!

The European Union is publishing today a “short list” with about 15 extra-community countries whose citizens can, as of 1 July, travel to the European bloc, revealed the Spanish Minister of Foreign Affairs.

“We have to be careful when opening the EU’s external borders […], and do it collectively, because within the EU there is free movement of people,” said Arancha González Laya in an interview with Spanish radio Cadena SER.

The government official insisted that the decision “is not a diplomatic exercise” and that the opening has to be made “gradually, following epidemiological criteria”.

At a meeting of ambassadors to the Community institutions on Friday in Brussels, it was agreed that a common epidemiological approach would be applied when opening these borders to countries with a level of infection similar to or below the EU average.

A draft list was also established with 15 countries considered safe, which includes Australia, Algeria, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, Rwanda and China.

Out of this list would be the United States, Russia and many Latin American countries, and they will also have to decide how to treat, in terms of reciprocity, the states that Europe is willing to put on that list, but which themselves prohibit the entry of Europeans. .

Arancha González Laya assured that he was not aware that there was any pressure from the United States for the European Union to open its borders to the citizens of that country, or that any other European country has expressed interest or need in that opening.

The person in charge of Spanish diplomacy underlined that it is not a question of being “friendly or unpleasant” with other countries, but of being responsible and, therefore, the initial list of states to which the EU’s borders will be opened on Wednesday 1 July is short, from about 15 countries, not including the United States.

González Laya also said that both the United States and China and Morocco keep their borders closed, so “this is a double exercise”, and it is necessary to study how to exercise this reciprocity.

The minister specified that the list would undergo a periodic review to be “gradually” extended to other countries that were controlling the covid-19 epidemic, but also to reverse those where there is an increase in contagions.

The covid-19 pandemic has already claimed more than 500,000 deaths and infected nearly 10.1 million people in 196 countries and territories, according to a report by the French agency AFP.

The United States is the country with the most deaths (125,768) and the most confirmed cases of infection (more than 2.5 million).

Next are Brazil (57,622 deaths, more than 1.34 million cases), the United Kingdom (43,550 deaths, more than 311 thousand cases), Italy (34,738 deaths and more than 240 thousand cases), France (29,778 deaths , more than 199 thousand cases) and Spain (28,343 dead, more than 248,500 cases).

source – euronews/reuters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *